Williams and Lamptey headline Ghana’s 26-man squad for 2022 FIFA World Cup
FIFA World Cup Ghana

Inaki Williams and Tariq Lamptey, two recent additions to the team, are the headliners as Ghana announced their 26-man squad for the 2022 World Cup in Qatar.

Ghana is included in Group H alongside Uruguay, South Korea, and Portugal. The Black Stars might actually have a chance to prove their worth, with Portugal and Uruguay the favorites to progress. On November 24, Ghana's World Cup campaign will get underway against Portugal.

However, the squad has a few fresh faces who should give the team new life. Inaki Williams, who has previously featured for Spain, is a new addition to the World Cup squad, alongside Denis Odoi, 34, who swapped his citizenship from Belgium in time for playoffs in March. In September, Mohammed Salisu of Southampton and Tariq Lamptey of Brighton both made their Black Stars debuts.

Ghana were obliged to name three unproven goalkeepers, due to the injuries sustained by its two first-choice goalkeepers, Jojo Wollacott and Richard Ofori, both of whom were playing for their clubs.

Coach Otto Addo has unexpectedly called up Kamal Sowah for the World Cup. Sowah has made an impression for Club Brugge in the Champions League, helping the Belgian team triumph over Atletico Madrid and Bayer Leverkusen to reach the round of 16.

This will be Ghana's fourth World Cup appearance. In 2006, the Black Stars debuted. In 2010, Ghana had its best World Cup run, making it as far as the quarter-finals before losing to Uruguay in the most disputed World Cup match ever. They will fancy their chances of causing an upset in the mundial but the bookies believe they will crash out in the group stages.

Uruguay will be their opponent once more as they are in the same group as South Korea and Portugal at the World Cup in Qatar.

However, for Ghana to have any possibility of winning, Thomas Partey will need to remain fit. The Arsenal man is crucial for their success because replacements are difficult to come by.

The team will be led by Andre Ayew, a veteran of the squad.

Goalkeeper:  Manaf Nurudeen, Danlad Ibrahim, Lawrence Ati Zigi

Defenders: Denis Odoi, Tariq Lamptey, Alidu Seidu, Daniel Amartey, Joseph Aidoo, Alexander Djiku, Mohammed Salisu, Abdul-Rahman Baba, Gideon Mensah

Midfielders: Andre Ayew, Thomas Partey, Elisha Owusu, Salis Abdul Samed, Mohammed Kudus, Daniel Kofi Kyereh

Forwards: Daniel Barnieh Afriyie, Kamal Sowah, Issahaku Abdul Fatawu, Osman Bukari, Inaki Williams, Antoine Semenyo, Jordan Ayew, Kamaldeen Sulemana