Thiago and Sergio Ramos left out of Spain’s 2022 World Cup squad
Spain FIFA World Cup

2010 world champions Spain have announced their World Cup squad and Luis Enrique’s 26-man list is without legendary defender Sergio Ramos and Liverpool dynamo Thiago Alcantara.

The PSG defender is the most capped player in his national team's history with 180 games for Spain and his run of featuring in ten consecutive tournaments ended after missing out on the EURO 2020 squad.

Thiago also misses out after last featuring for La Roja at the European championship. Nevertheless, Premier League stars like Cesar Azpilicueta, Aymeric Laporte, Rodri, David Raya and Robert Sanchez were selected.

In the shores of Spain, veterans Dani Carvajal and Jordi Alba were selected alongside Eric Garcia.

Sergio Busquets will be tasked with anchoring the midfield, and he will be joined by a mix of experience and youth with Koke, Gavi and Pedri.

Atletico Madrid’s Alvaro Morata should be the leading man in attack, complemented by Barcelona duo Ferran Torres and Ansu Fati.

Other exciting names who were listed include Villarreal’s Pau Torres, Yeremy Pino and Nico Williams whose brother, Inaki, will also represent Ghana in Qatar.
In keeping with recent times, Barcelona were the most represented club in the World Cup squad with seven players.

Luis Enrique has been rebuilding the national team since he took charge immediately after their Round of 16 elimination on penalties to hosts Russia in 2018, they will be riding on a wave of confidence from their 2020 European Championship finish.

Spain, who are in the tournament’s Group of Death with Germany, Costa Rica and Japan, kick off their 2022 World Cup campaign against Costa Rica on November 23.

Spain 2022 World Cup squad in full

Goalkeepers: Unai Simon (Athletic Bilbao), Robert Sanchez (Brighton), David Raya (Brentford)

Defenders: Cesar Azpilicueta (Chelsea), Dani Carvajal (Real Madrid), Eric Garcia (Barcelona), Hugo Guillamon (Valencia), Pau Torres (Villarreal), Aymeric Laporte (Manchester City), Jordi Alba (Barcelona), Jose Gaya (Valencia).

Midfielders: Sergio Busquets (Barcelona), Rodri (Manchester City), Gavi (Barcelona), Carlos Soler (Paris Saint Germain), Marcos Llorente (Atletico Madrid), Pedri (Barcelona), Koke (Atletico Madrid).

Forwards: Ferran Torres (Barcelona), Nico Williams (Athletic Bilbao), Yeremy Pino (Villarreal), Alvaro Morata (Atletico Madrid), Marco Asensio (Real Madrid), Pablo Sarabia (Paris Saint Germain), Dani Olmo (RB Leipzig), Ansu Fati (Barcelona).